Kazan University is a present-day model of a classical university where the most fundamental principle is the synthesis of research and education.

1. Institute

Institute is a research and education structural unit of the University offering educational programs of undergraduate and postgraduate professional education, pre-university and additional professional education in a number of sciences and disciplines and implements fundamental and applied research projects in relevant scientific fields.

Institute's structure may include divisions, departments, laboratories, research and education centers, and other main and auxiliary units.

Institutes are headed by directors.

2. Faculty

Faculty is a structural unit similar to an institute. Currently, there is only faculty remaining at KFU - the Faculty of Law.

Faculties are headed by deans.

3. Division

Division is a structural unit of an Institute covering a specified group of subject areas. Work of a large Division is divided into separate Departments. Divisions are headed by heads of divisions who answer to directors of the institutes.

4. Department

Departments are basic structural units of institutes/faculties. Departments carry out educational, methodological and research activities, social and extracurricular work with students, training and retraining of pedagogical and research staff. Departments are headed by department chairs.

Download a full list of structural units here.

Look for employees in our staff directory.

ACADEMIC UNITS (undergraduate and postgraduate education)

Natural sciences

Institute of Geology and Petroleum Technologies

Institute of Fundamental Medicine and Biology

Institute of Environmental Sciences

Alexander Butlerov Institute of Chemistry

Physics, mathematics, and IT

Institute of Information Technology and Intelligent Systems

Institute of Artificial Intelligence, Robotics and System Engineering

Institute of Computational Mathematics and Information Technologies

Nikolai Lobachevsky Institute of Mathematics and Mechanics

Institute of Physics

Economics and management

Institute of Management, Economics and Finance

Higher School of Business

Humanities, social sciences, and law

Institute of International Relations

Leo Tolstoy Institute of Philology and Intercultural Communication

Institute of Psychology and Education 

Institute of Social and Philosophical Sciences and Mass Communications

Faculty of Law

Institute of Design and Spatial Arts

Territorial branches

Naberezhnye Chelny Institute

Yelabuga Institute

ACADEMIC UNITS (other levels and types of education)

Higher School of Public Administration

Department of Physical Education and Sports

Faculty of Advanced Training and Staff Retraining

Preparatory School for International Students

Preparatory Course in Cairo, Egypt

Secondary Education

IT Lyceum

Lobachevsky Lyceum