The Chair of Mathematical Analysis was founded in 1934. For forty years (1934-1974) the Chair was headed by the Honored Scientist of Russian Federation, Prof. Boris M. Gagayev (1897-1975). In 1974-1998 it was directed by Prof. Anatolii N. Sherstnev, Honored Scientist of the Republic of Tatarstan. Now the head of the Chair is Prof. Semen R. Nasyrov.

General courses for departments of Mathematics and Mechanics taught by the teachers of the Chair are ‘Mathematical Analysis’, ‘Functional Analysis and Integral Equations’, ‘Theory of Probability and Mathematical Statistics’, and ‘Theory of Stochastic Processes’. In addition, for students specializing in Mechanics the general course ‘Complex Analysis" is taught.